Memes and References:

Kate’s L Ron Hubbard album (Kate is NOT a scientologist!)

Summary:

In the Pacific Northwest in 1983, outsiders Red Miller and Mandy Bloom lead a loving and peaceful existence. When their pine-scented haven is savagely destroyed by a cult led by the sadistic Jeremiah Sand, Red is catapulted into a phantasmagoric journey filled with bloody vengeance and laced with deadly fire.

Nerd Corner:

Notalgia

Film grain- used to be natural part of film process, now totally avoidable with digital but intentionally applied in post as an aesthetic and storytelling choice

Nostalgia as aesthetic

Film grain -> movement (breathing, swimming, squirming); gives life to images; heightens drug trip effect; nostalgic of 70s and 80s film grain

Use of nostalgia in horror- lure someone in with something familiar and then twist it; horror can be soothing for people with anxiety

Kate Notes:

Is that mothman? Oh my god it’s an angel. Lord. 

Umedia sounds very 2010s

Okay so those are Grateful Dead lyrics…

Usually it’s like a grim poem or a bible verse or something…but they just drop GD lyrics like it’s the holy word.

Okay Nic Cage is a lumberjack. Real men don’t look at explosions or trees falling. The intentional graininess.

Ah, an artiste has entered the room.

She reads books NERD

I was so afraid he was gonna say “Earth cause you’re on it” lol (a la Cloverfield)

But it’s fine, don’t panic. He likes Saturn.

A yes, a house composed of windows. Very safe. 

The shot of the boat. He’s talking and gesturing and she’s like cool I painted my toenails. 

“Did I ever tell you about the starlings when I was a little kid?” great it’s a story of her father killing baby birds. Very Lizzie Borden of him. What did she do?

I find that he allows me to  express that love in many ways. But one of those ways is music. Okay. This guy is really just like “you gotta listen to MY music okay.” he created a cult to get people to listen to his mixtape. 

This music sucks. Jeremiah Sand. Cool cool cool. He really is at a party like, “guys I’m kind of a singer songwriter. You wouldn’t understand my art.”

 

Tropes:

Awesome, but Impractical

Bathos 

Decapitation Presentation 

Berserk Button 

Drone of the Dead 

Hell is That Noise 

High-Pressure Blood

 

Scale:

swigs from a vodka jug

 

Works Cited:

Abreu, Rafael. (2020, September 13). What is Film Grain? The Causes and Effects Explained. Studio Binder. https://www.studiobinder.com/blog/what-is-film-grain-definition/

Allen, Joe. (2021, May 30). The Ending Of Mandy Explained. Looper. https://www.looper.com/424309/the-ending-of-mandy-explained/#:~:text=Mandy%20is%20about%20recovering%20from%20severe%20trauma&text=After%20the%20severe%20trauma%20that,the%20violence%20perpetrated%20against%20him

Barry, Angie. (2017, October 27). Stranger Things, It, and the Rise of Nostalgia Horror. Criminal Element. https://www.criminalelement.com/stranger-things-it-and-the-rise-of-nostalgia-horror/ 

Bergstrom, Aren. (2016, October 7). The Nostalgia of Horror. 3 Brothers Film. https://3brothersfilm.com/blog/2016/10/7/the-nostalgia-of-horror  

Bowen, Chuck. (2018, September 11). Review: Mandy. Slant Magazine. https://www.slantmagazine.com/film/mandy/

Crucchioloa, Jordan. (2018, September 13). This One Scene in Mandy Makes It the Best ‘Ban Men’ Film of 2018. Vulture. https://www.vulture.com/2018/09/lets-talk-about-the-most-harrowing-scene-in-mandy.html

Goldberg, Matt. (2018, September 10). ‘Mandy’ Review: The Beautiful Insanity of Love and Loss. Collider. https://collider.com/mandy-review/

Lazic, Elena. (2018, October 15). Brutal Finality: Panos Cosmatos Discusses “Mandy”. MUBI. https://mubi.com/notebook/posts/brutal-finality-panos-cosmatos-discusses-mandy

Lynch, Alex David. (2019, June 21). Nicolas Cage Required Hot Yogurt On His Toes To Enjoy A Love Scene With Jennifer Beals During ‘Vampire’s Kiss’. The Playlist. https://theplaylist.net/nicolas-cage-vampires-kiss-filming-20190621/ 

Mildner, Kat. (2018, December 17). Tenderness Amidst Chaos: How Mandy Rejects Violent Masculine Power. Reel Honey. http://reelhoney.com/tenderness-amidst-chaos-mandy-rejects-violent-masculine-power/

Puschak, Evan. [Nerdwriter1]. (2018, October 18). Mandy: the Art of Film Grain [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4PcpGxihPac 

Qu, Hans. (2018, October 19). ‘Mandy’ and Experimenting with Film Grain. Film School Rejects. https://filmschoolrejects.com/video-essay-experimentation-with-film-grain/ 

West, Alexandra. (2015, September 17). How Soon is Now?: Nostalgia in Horror. Coming Soon. https://www.comingsoon.net/horror/pb_article_type/747154-soon-now-nostalgia-horror